Thread: Weather effect

Hybrid View

Weather effect

I have been looking at forecasts for the first week of Nov. Looks like a warm up? My question is with rut more than likely being in do you think that will stop alot of the movement with the warmer temps? Will they become more nocturnal? Should I hunt close to water? I am fairly new at bowhunting and just wondered what everyone thought?!?! Thanks and good luck fellas!

I am far from an expert, but I think during the rut, you can throw out the moon phases, temp, barometric pressure, etc... A hot doe will likely trump any of these. I think that will be a good week to be in stand. Rut + Cold front ( like the expected weekend forecast ) is just a bonus!

Hi- I am no expert either but I've keep a journal with over 20 years of bowhunting Ohio and use that data for predicting deer movement. One thing that definitely impacts rut activity (deer movement)
    is warm weather. My stats clearly show that when the barometer climbs, chase activity stops. I equate it to that by this time of year the deer have their winter fur and they physically can't look for, and pursue each other.

Trperk can u share some more of your data? When's best barometric pressure and any other u r willing to pass along! I deffinately would be interested in reading!

Hey MjH- unfortunately I didn't track barometric pressure and it's literally a bound journal so hard to publish. I do track; location, date, temp, wind (direction and MPH), moon phase and of course the results. Some interesting trends over the 20 years are: shot 12 bucks on Nov 11 and 12, 8 of which were between 11am and 330pm. Temp was between 20 and 40 degrees. Wind was calm to 15mph. On the flip side the worse deer activity was during warm and/or windy days. Sitting in you stand during light rain seems also to be productive.

I know this is a lot of stuff you'd read in a article but for me it reinforces the conditions and time of day to be in your stand when the rut is on!