Thread: Howa Axiom Varmint Rifle

Hybrid View

Howa Axiom Varmint Rifle

The "package" deal that is offered with this rifle has a decent powered scope, in a 4x16x44...called a Nikko Stirling, which I know nothing about and have never heard of them. This may be one of my considerations for my next varmint rifle.
    http://legacysports.com/axiom-varminter-scope-package

Does anyone own this rifle or know anyone that does?
    What are your thoughts on the Axiom Varmint?

Thank you, Bowhunter57
    Beer Nuts: $1.49
    Deer nuts: Still under a buck.

well I have shot seeral Howa actions, over the yrs, most shot pretty well, and I have known several folks that used there actions to build long range 1,000 yrd bench rifles on, and they were extremely accurate with there actions, but thats a whole different deamon!

I have NO experience with this make/model scope
    that being said
    I think for a grand, you could build a rifle
    you can get a savage for less, and or a remington in a varmit caliber(they don't have recoil, so that stock is a eye catching deal more or less, and Black hawk, sells like stocks if you wanted one later for other make rifles!)
    and a decent scope in the 4x14 or 4x16 range from a brand name maker, them scopes with the slanted objective, are impossible to find scope caps for, so to me there useless, I like butler creek flip open scope caps on my rifles!
    but you can build a gun for a grand, or better yet, maybe find a used one for a LOT less, and if it doesn't meet your accuracy, can have it re barreled with a top notch BBL
    a used rifle can normally be had for about 450-500, and a new Hart or Kreiger
    a rem SPS in 22-250 can be had on sale for about 400 bucks, and then a scope and mounts for another 500
    leaving you room
    and then all and any parts ever needed will be easier to find