PDA

View Full Version : New to Ohio, need some help

DC-Kreative
06-04-2013, 11:04 AM
Hey guys,

Like the title says, I am new to Ohio. I am originally from buffalo NY, but have been living outside of cleveland the past 3 years, as I was going to the Cleveland Institute of Art. I now have a job in Chagrin Falls OH, and have a small parcel of land to hunt on.

I need some insight on everything license related. Im guessing I can go to gander mountain or Dicks to get my tags and permits, but was hoping you guys here could give me as much info as possible. I know that the parcel I have permission to hunt is bow only.

thanks in Advance!

Big_Holla
06-04-2013, 02:05 PM
Welcome to BowhuntingOhio DC-Kreative!! Most of what you are looking for as far as licensing can be reviewed on the ODNR web page for Hunting and Trapping:

http://ohiodnr.com/Home/HuntingandTrappingSubhomePage/tabid/6522/Default.aspx

As far as where you go to buy your hunting licenses, yes most sporting goods stores will carry them along with Meijer's, Walmart, etc.. The land that you are bowhunting on, is it private land or perhaps public bow-only? One thing Ohio is big on if it's private you have permission to hunt on is making sure you have a permission slip filled out. Those can be found on their website or can be obtained at a license dealer. Look forward to hearing how your season progresses this year!!

hortontoter
06-04-2013, 03:23 PM
You will need a resident hunting license, a deer tag and written permission on private land. Tags can be either sex or antlerless. Read the regulations to decide which tag you will need.

Should be some nice bucks to be had around the Chagrin Falls area. Good luck and keep us posted how things go. Feel free to ask questions any time. We will all offer advice when we can.

DC-Kreative
06-04-2013, 10:19 PM