PDA

View Full Version : I am going to give Turkey Hunting a try 1st time ever

PlayTheWindMike
01-29-2013, 01:52 PM
I have made the decision to turkey hunt this year. I have read some posts on other threads and I believe that I could have some fun doing this.

I have a Wingmaster 20 ga. Is this gauge big enough? If not I will just use my bow.

My brother bought a 75 acre farm and I deer hunted a few times and could have killed many deer but chose not to....first year on property wanted to figure out the heard before we start killing. When I went out I saw turkey almost every time. Mostly the turkey I spotted would either work their way down the back west side of a 40 acre field or work their way through the open hardwoods on the north side of the field. Usually there would be anywhere from 20 to 40 turkey together. Correct me if I am wrong but I am going to set up my blind along the field where they go through cause the tree line is very thick. The property is surrounded by hundreds of acres of mostly woods, very few small fields here and there. They roost mostly just to the west down in a bottom next to a power line. They work their way up the power line to the field so maybe 20 yards off the power line on the field edge is where the blind will go./?

If anyone has any other type info please let me know.

Seeker Bp
01-29-2013, 02:09 PM