PDA

View Full Version : Baiting with Corn

wvbownut
01-06-2013, 10:39 AM
I've been using corn over my cameras for a couple of years but it seems that most of the deer are eating at night. Anyone using something that brings them in during daylight hours?

rednecklb69
01-06-2013, 03:18 PM
Warm veggie pizza

mrbb
01-06-2013, 03:30 PM
HAHAHAHA
no and I have tried everything known to man and animal
BUT I personally think its learned behavior
you see they learn its there at all hrs, and that its safest at night to move
I think using a timer feeder and only having it drop feed during day time hrs would help
but its just a way of most deer's lives anymore
unless you happen to be lucky enough to own enough land to limit pressure
and in places like that I see deer feeding all day
so its safety they worry about more than type of food if you ask me

something I know some folks do is move the bait site around some, like 50-75 yrds away every time you put more out, it makes them look for it more and then they claim helps them get deer out sooner as they have to find it and they compete to who finds it first!

but a timer I think is the easiest one to hunt over/near and maybe condition them to feed earlier!
on a different note here now in my back yard they only come to my feeder in day light! go figure all yr till now they only came at night!
don't hunt here just to watch them
but they show up like clock work at an hr before dark
so my camera says, haven't been here been out hunting so think all the guys that hunt near me are missing them too LOL

On a different note
a lot does depend on where you place the baot too I think
closer to there bedding area in cover might get them up sooner too if they feel safer there? but its hard to get in and out without them seeing you! and dioesn't take long for them to figure it out too!

wvbownut
01-06-2013, 07:19 PM
Thanks mrbb I think the heavy pressure isn't helping either

mrbb
01-06-2013, 07:25 PM