PDA

View Full Version : Wifi Trail Cam?

ronoconn
12-27-2012, 02:46 PM
I have a spot on our property I would like to set up a trail cam. It's in an area that we have had trouble with trespassers in the past so I would like to mount the camera up high to discourage theft. I've seen the cameras that work off of cel systems and started wondering if there were any that communicated via wifi? Wifi connectivity would not require me to buy a plan to service it. I could just walk out near the camera on occasion, connect to it with a tablet or phone via wifi, view/transfer any images wirelessly, and go about my business. The only time I would need to climb up to the camera would be for battery replacements.

After a little bit of googling I'm coming up with nothing so I thought I'd throw the idea out here.

Great site by the way, I am new to bow hunting and have already gleaned a lot of good info here.

Since this is the 'Trail Cam' section I figured I should include a picture from one of my other cameras:

ghunter
12-27-2012, 03:43 PM
How would you get internet out to the spot?

ronoconn
12-27-2012, 04:11 PM
How would you get internet out to the spot?

I'm thinking just the two devices communicating, not connected to a wireless network, maybe this isn't possible. What got me thinking about it is when I've been in an airport or somewhere and I can see other peoples devices in my wireless list on my phone or tablet.

Big_Holla
12-27-2012, 04:40 PM
It sounds like you should look at the BuckEye Cam system them. Pretty expensive but once it's set up you can add cameras and jump off of them to get further from the base unit. The BuckEye Cam I have, although not set up for wireless transmission at this time, has literally taken tens of thousands of pictures over the many years of year round use.

Also go to www.trailcampro.com and check out the reviews. There are some others that may work to what you want as well.

ronoconn
12-27-2012, 06:19 PM