PDA

View Full Version : Plots with fourwheelers

rednecklb69
12-17-2012, 09:01 PM
I recently picked up a honda rincon with intentions of making some deep wood small plots. Are any of you using quads for plots? Im looking for a disc and wondering what yall use to till up uour plots.

mrbb
12-17-2012, 09:45 PM
well I have been using my honda 400 foreman for 13 yrs now to build food plots
I have done small one's and up to 2+ acres with just the atv
AT my hunting camp we have done the same and have bought a bunch of atv implements

first off, a ATV is NOT a tractor, so t takes a LOT more time to prep a site with just an atv
the heavier the disc the better it will work, same goes for how big the disc are, bigger blades work better and take less passes to work the soil into a good base
BUT bigger heavier the disc, the harder your atv will be working
best suggestions I have is start all food plots early just after winter as the ground is just thawing out, it is the softest it will be
and then keep turning it over every couple weeks if you can till planting time
will make life a lot easier, and be a one pass deal come planting time

as for things to buy
well, if your on a tight budget, as made for ATv things are not cheap!!
you can look for older farm Harrows, and just remove a section
I will try to take a pic'c next time I am at the farm of what I use and did
BUt I found a 3 piece(about 10 foot wide) pull type harrow off a local farmer for 50 bucks
took it apart into one small section, and one (two parts) bigger/wider section
and drag it with my ATV
the smaller section gets used 99% of the time, its about as wide as the ATV, and it will dig into the ground about 4-5 inches , with pending how hard the ground is, one or 10 passes, all depends on how hard the ground is! or rocky it is!
the deeper it gets into the ground, the more restance it has, the harder the ATV has to work, even on small plots