PDA

View Full Version : DEER POPULATION-up or down

MICH
12-10-2012, 08:43 PM
OR IS IT THE SAME, just wondering how ( so far ) you think the ohio deer herd is??? this is my 3rd year down there, so i'm still a rookie, but, this year was great, 16 diff. bucks & many doe's over 6 days...i say many, but it was 6-11 a day...i have a great & FUN year.....i do think the doe permits should drop to 2 or 3 in the scioto cty area...WHAT do you guys think

mrbb
12-10-2012, 09:04 PM
well didn't get to Ohio this yr
But here in PA, I firmly believe deer numbers are a LOT lower state wide than they ever been
some areas still have way too many and many places have almost none per square mile
but I am a firm believer its a simple formula
where ever there is food ALL YR there are deer
way too many forest and woods in many places just cannot do that
Provide food all yr, then they need cover and water too

I will for sure say its a lack of forest fires that is a big part of the lack of food here
way too much litter/leaves and dead stuff on the ground preventing new tree's and browse from coming up!
and deer are by nature Browsers, so less browse, less deer
timbering and fire are what creates a ton of it, and its just not done enough
and add in how far houses have advanced into what was forested lands/farm lands and its pretty easy to see why numbers are down in many places

ManOfTheFall
12-11-2012, 03:32 AM
I believe the numbers in Ohio are down but still very solid. No where near being too low

Stonegod
12-11-2012, 04:57 AM
Yep......down statewide......But in medina county where I hunt, they say the numbers are increasing......maybe that's because I'm hunting there?LOL

Roxman
12-11-2012, 09:36 AM