PDA

View Full Version : newbie hunter in NE Ohio!

maygin
07-19-2012, 08:09 PM
Hey everyone! My name's Megan and I'm new here. I'm 21 and I've been hunting for about three years. I was using my friends crossbow until I could afford a piece of equipment of my own. This past spring, I bought my first bow, a Hoyt Avenger, from Kames. A month or two later, my friend and I had it out and are no longer part of one another's lives. As everyone knows, it's 100% impossible to learn everything about bow hunting in three years, especially when I JUST bought my own compound when I've been shooting a crossbow the whole time.

So that's why I'm here! I'm trying this all on my own and I have no one around me to even understand the terminology, let alone have their own bow to shoot.

I'm still a little naive about everything, but i'm hoping this site will help me get a little more savvy! :)

:001_005:

edward7399
07-19-2012, 09:05 PM
Welcome to bowhunting Megan. It's an amazing thing to take an animal with a bow, challenging too. But worth it. I'm a solo hunter too. But nothing beats just being out there. Do u have a place to practice?

maygin
07-19-2012, 09:33 PM
Welcome to bowhunting Megan. It's an amazing thing to take an animal with a bow, challenging too. But worth it. I'm a solo hunter too. But nothing beats just being out there. Do u have a place to practice?

when i first got my bow, i was shooting in the field behind my house. i ended up losing quite a few arrows because i was so inexperienced and couldnt hit the target half of the time haha. i'm better now lol thank god, but i'm looking to go up to berlin lake (if you are familiar) because i hear they have an outdoor range.

hortontoter
07-19-2012, 10:20 PM
Welcome Megan. There is a range at Berlin on Fewtown Road. Not sure what the range is like. Fewtown Road is about one mile south of SR 224 on SR 225. Fewtown Road only runs east off of SR 225. The archery range is near the first parking lot you come to.

Seeker Bp