PDA

View Full Version : New to turkey hunting. Got some ??

BIGHUNTOH
04-25-2012, 10:17 AM
Ok.. First off I'm an avid deer hunter, but im quite new to turkey hunting. I plan to go out this weekend probably saturday and sunday. Any advise on location to set up? I have a blind should I set it up now or wait till saturday? Do the turkeys no the woods like deer, or would they not be able to pick out a blind? I have a very large field to hunt on (around 200acre), should I set up on the field by a thicket?? Any advise would be appreciated!!

Big_Holla
04-25-2012, 12:12 PM
If it's private land and you are not worried about the blind coming up missing I would put it up and leave it up. You will hear many say that you can just pop up a blind and hunt turkeys but any smart birds may figure out that something is amiss. It isn't easy setting one up quietly in the early morning the day of a hunt anyways. Field edges are best, backing it up against a thicket is good. If you are setting it in the woods then keep in mind turkeys like to be able to see distances so the more open woods the better IMO. If you have time to sit somewhere and listen in the evenings you may be able to figure out common roosting sites by hearing them fly up to roost.

BIGHUNTOH
04-25-2012, 12:34 PM
Does the field matter? I have two fields on the property I hunt, one is a large wheat field about knee high now. the other is tilled corn. The property is private, so I'm not that worried about the blind being stolen. thanks

blackbeard
04-26-2012, 07:59 AM
Does the field matter? I have two fields on the property I hunt, one is a large wheat field about knee high now. the other is tilled corn. The property is private, so I'm not that worried about the blind being stolen. thanks