PDA

View Full Version : What You Learned..What You Will Change

blackbeard
03-08-2012, 10:27 PM
What did you learn during this past season and what will you change for next season? Even though I've been hunting for several years I learn each year and try to change something each year as well. What about you?

Here's what I learned and will change:

#1- I can no longer be such a passive bow hunter. That worked when I had no kids and could hunt every day because I would eventually get a shot at a mature buck. Next year I'm going to be more aggressive and try to get a mature buck as early as I can.

#2- Some stand sites will remain but several will change that didn't produce. My goal ever year is to find one new great stand site. I don't always accomplish that goal, but I did this year.

#3- Cut shooting lanes out to 35 yards on all four sides of my stands, this is one mistake I made this year, I tried to rely on getting bucks too close before I could shoot them.

#4- Don't overlook the obvious. I had a 140+" buck living on my 33 acres this year. He made a a small portion of my overgrown field his bedroom and I didn't notice it until gun season when I saw him there and then did some looking around.

mrbb
03-08-2012, 10:40 PM
well for me, its some what simple
I have to stepup my trespassing watching

last yr I tried to hunt and had guys just beind me i ddn't really know were there, trying to not over walk the lands and keep certian areas free of me

only to find out guys were in ether ruining my hunts
going to have to just give up hunting on fridays and saturdays and patrol them days! sucks but / not gaining anything lhunting and having them ruin the hunts anyways! wasted time in the tree this way!!!

secondly I need to get ion a buck sooner

they were so Nocturnal this yr it was terrible, part I am guessing to teh trespassing proble s and weather
too much rain